v Sabbath School Lesson 2011-2012

Yahweh's House of God
Passover Guidelines

by Larry C. Hamner

April 23, 2011

Observing Passover

Observing Passover requires a certain amount of knowledge when it comes to the do's and don'ts of eliminating leavening from your Passover diet. We are prohibited from eating leavened bread during the entire week of Passover.

This article will provide a brief overview of what foods should be avoided during Passover. It however, should not be taken as a definitive guide – if you have specific questions about Passover foods, it's always best to check with your Pastor.

Passover Leavening

In addition to avoiding leavened bread, we should also avoid foods made with wheat, barley, rye, spelt or oats – unless those foods are labeled “kosher for Passover.” The reason we accept the “kosher for Passover” label is that we know that the rabbis have taken great care in seeing that these products have not leavened.

If you use any of these grain or their flour to prepare various Passover dishes you should also take great care in seeing that the leavening process does not occur.

When the flour of these five grain is mixed with water they have the potential for leavening. Best practice is complete abstinence during Passover, unless you are absolutely certain about their preparation.


In certain Jewish communities there are additional foods that are usually forbidden during Passover. The Jews refer to them as “kitniot” (pronounced kit–neeh–oat). Kitniots are rice, millet, corn and legumes such as clover, peas, beans, lentils, lupins, and peanuts. These foods are NOT FORBIDDEN for us during Passover. We can eat them!

My Passover Tip

During this Passover season you will hear many different versions of what you should or shouldn't eat or drink. For instance: sodas, coffee, ice cream, and vinegar. These foods are often made with or contain one of the five forbidden grains. If it was made with one of the five grain and you are not certain whether or not there was a leavening agent introduced during its production. Avoid It! if it was made with a legume; great it's ok for our Passover diet.

[ HOME ]